I’m Going to Party Like It’s My Birthday…

…because it is!

Today is my golden birthday! (You know–when you turn the age of the date of your birth.) In honor of turning twenty-two on the twenty-second, I am going to list twenty-two of the most random personal facts I could devise. Since blogging is largely narcissistic, and today is my birthday, I consider it an appropriate time to talk about myself.  Old, new, and just plain weird–these facts are representative of my past twenty-two years on planet earth.

  1. My favorite color is blue…
  2. …but black is the color currently dominating my wardrobe.
  3. I once had a horse named Sunday…who was sold before his third birthday.
  4. I went to private school (and was home-schooled) for grades four through half of tenth.
  5. I started public high school as a socially inept tenth grader.
  6. The song playing during my first kiss was Lifehouse’s “Everything.”
  7. My first encounter with British Literature was at age eleven in the sixth grade. (It was Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.)
  8. In middle school, my friends and I used pseudonyms while passing notes, so we wouldn’t be discovered if someone intercepted it (ah, the days before text messaging!). In sixth grade, I was known as “Smarty Pants,” and in seventh grade I called myself Angel–Angel Wings. *groan*
  9. I first read (my favorite novel) Jane Eyre when I was thirteen.
  10. My guilty pleasure playlist includes Lady G*g*, Kes*a, and Kat*y Per*y.
  11. I prefer Byronic heroes to boy-next-door types.
  12. In Austen’s Mansfield Park, I really wish the protagonist, Fanny Price, would elope with Henry Crawford.
  13. (Confession of shame) I have been to the midnight premiere of all the Twilight films.
  14. I watch Smallville because I think To*m Well*ng is *sexy*.
  15. I was on a volleyball team in the ninth grade, and a dance team in the tenth grade. I regret both activities deeply.
  16. I didn’t go to my first high school football game until I was a junior in high school. I left at half-time. (It was also, oddly enough, the last game I attended.)
  17. I was secretly in love with a football player for a solid year in high school. He never knew I existed.
  18. During my senior year of high school, I seriously considered majoring in political science and history before I decided on English literature.
  19. I have never seen any of the Star Wars movies, original or re-makes.
  20. The Dark Knight is probably my favorite (non-literary) movie of all time.
  21. While speaking of movies, Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot and Peter Jackson’s King Kong gave me nightmares for days.
  22. And for the most random fact of all–when I get married and decide to have children, I would like to have at least four. If I have a boy, my best friend suggested I name him Dane Austen. I told her I’d think about it.  

About ObscureAcademian

I am a would-be academian, with a speciality in English literature. I will be graduating from a private university in May, and will hopefully begin my Master's at a public university just down the road in August. This blog is merely by attempt to cope with being an introvert in an extrovert's world.
This entry was posted in Etc., Fun/Exciting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment